top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBGCNC

Name Art with Staff Sable



Hi everyone, long time no see! Let’s get right into the next art project that I have planned for all of you! I hope that all of you are doing well and staying safe, and I would like this to be a fun project for all of you!

Number One: find a blank piece of paper. It can really be any type of paper: lined paper, notebook paper, printer paper, grid paper, or sketchbook paper. I chose sketchbook paper for myself, and I decided on this type of paper because out of the types I listed, this was the thickest of all of the papers. Having your paper be thicker is a good idea, this way when you color it, the color won’t bleed through the back of the sheet.

Number Two: next, I really recommend using a black writing utensil, whether you choose to use a thick, black Sharpie as I did, use a different type of black marker, use black paint, whatever you choose. I think that using black to outline the beginning at first is a good idea because then the names are bold. Then, when coloring, later on, the colors will be brighter and contrast more with the outline.

Number Three: the next thing that you guys are going to do is going to be picking what you will be coloring with. You can color with colored pencils, crayons, markers, paint, highlighters, whatever you think you can color with. I encourage all of you to be super creative!! I chose to use markers because they were the closest thing I had, plus they are the things that I have the most shades of colors in.

Number Four: I am showing you examples of the writing styles that I used in my drawing. What you do is you first write your name down regularly. Capitalize the first letter, and lowercase letters following. After you first write down your name the way you normally do, you will then want to write exactly over that in the next style I’m about to show you.

Number Five: the next style you will want to trace is tracing your name in all capital letters, like the example that I provided you in the photo, above, right over the style you just drew.

Number Six: the last style you will do is to trace your name in cursive over the rest of the styles you traced. If you need help writing your name in cursive, don’t hesitate to ask your parents, or if it is easier to trace your name in cursive first, and then do the other styles, that is perfectly fine as well! But, if you guys don’t want to trace your name in cursive at all, that is totally okay as well, you could always substitute it with writing your name in all lowercase letters, or writing your name in bubble letters, or any sort of crazy and fun style you can think of. Remember, this whole art project is all about having fun and making the creation your own!

Number Seven: the first style I drew of my name.

Number Eight: I drew my name in all capitals over the first outline.

Number Nine: lastly, I traced my name in cursive over the other two styles. I know that it may look messy at first, but don’t fear, the next steps are so easy!

Number Ten: Now that you have traced each style of your name over each other, all you have to do is grab whatever you are going to color with. Take those colors, choose whatever colors you want, and then start filling in the boxes and bubbles with all kinds of different colors.


As I said in step nine, you’re going to want to pick your colors and start coloring in the boxes and bubbles that all of your styles made.


Lastly, once you have finished coloring in each and every box and bubble, your piece of artwork should look something like this. Now, of course, it won’t look exactly the same as mine, but that’s okay! We will all make our own unique pieces, and that’s the fun part.


Final Art:

Like always, I hope that all the kiddos that our BGC staff like to call our little BGC family, will have fun with this art project and make it their own and with their own style. And, if you guys want to, all of the staff that works at the club, me, Sara, Vitheavy, Taylor, Morgan, Joey, and the rest of our amazing team of staff would absolutely love to see your art and what you come up with. So, if you would like to, don’t be afraid to show us what your final drawings look like if not, that’s completely fine! We’re just trying to make the whole staying-at-home thing easier and more fun with these awesome activities we come up with!


Stay safe and healthy everyone!!


Staff Sable:)



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page