top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBGCNC

Origami Butterfly


Hi everyone!


I hope you all are doing well and staying safe. During quarantine I’ve been trying some new things to pass time. One thing I’ve been trying out is origami! I thought I would share some of the things I’ve learned with you guys so you can make some cool stuff! First I’m going to show you how to make an origami butterfly.


For this you are going to need a square piece of construction or craft paper. Ask a parent to help you cut out a square if you need to. 4x4 or 5x5 inches are good sizes.


Next you are going to need to fold the paper in half, sideways and vertically.

Once you have done this, flip your paper over.


With your paper turned over, you now need to fold the square diagonally both ways.

You should now fold in the center creases. Once you have done this you should have a triangle.

Now you need to turn your paper so the point of the triangle is pointing down. Then, fold down the two top corners to the point of the triangle.

Next you are going to take the point of the triangle, or the bottom part of it, and fold it back and over the top. You should create a small triangle fold that will help keep it in place.

This is what it should look like now.

The last step is to fold the entire butterfly in half to create a crease that should hold it together.

Here is the final product!

I hope you had fun making this! I like to tape these butterflies to my wall or hang them by string as decoration in my room. There will be more origami tutorials to come. Stay safe and healthy!


- Grace



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page